dr. J. VANDEPUTTE

Plastic Surgery

without surgery

creams, gels, ointments
Some products have a limited effect on the surface of the skin ("cellullite") and on the thickness of the fat layer. However, this effect is not permanent.

massage
Professional massage techniques mainly influence fluid accumulation in the fat layer. They correct swelling but no sagging. Very clear improvement is possible, but the effect disappears after a few weeks when the treatment is discontinued. "Manual lymphatic drainage" is both pleasant and efficient; more intense treatments e.g. with the LPG apparatus (endermology) are an interesting option. These treatments are excellent for persons who want to improve their body shape as much as possible for a well-defined period (holiday, festivities) without surgery. On top of that, they are very useful to prepare for liposculpture and to limit and treat the temporary swelling caused by this operation.

diet
A healthy diet is the basis for a good figure. For most people it is all that is necessary to maintain that good body contour. Healthy eating habits are equally important for people who seek aesthetic surgical treatment. The surgery is complementary, it is not a replacement. Obesity has to be treated by diet change, sometimes under medical supervision, but in no way by aesthetic surgery. Sometimes stomach and bowel surgery (by an abdominal surgeon) are considered for severe obesity.

sport
A good physical condition is equally important for a nice body contour. Stronger muscles around the spine and the abdomen maintain a healthier and more beautiful stature. Well-developed muscles obviously improve body contour. A large muscle mass helps to burn more energy, thereby influencing the fat tissue. However, muscle excercices have no local effect on fat deposits, e.g. abdominal muscle excercices will have no direct influence on abdominal fat deposits.

combination methods
Intensive methods like local heating and local exercise, like in body styling, probably only affect fluid accumulation in the fat tissue. There is little evidence of effect on the fat cells proper. Nevertheless, the supervised physical exercise and the diet that are a part of these methods, combined with the local therapy, may result in considerable contour improvement.

dr. J. VANDEPUTTE

Chirurgie Plastique

sans chirurgie

crèmes
Certaines crèmes ont un effet visible sur l’épiderme (cellulite) et sur l’épaisseur de la couche adipeuse. Toutefois, cet effet n’est pas durable.

massage
Les techniques de massage professionnelles agissent principalement sur l’excès de liquides accumulés dans les tissus graisseux. Elles combattent donc le gonflement mais pas la déformation. Des améliorations très nettes sont cependant constatées, mais elles disparaissent au bout de quelques semaines lorsqu’il est mis fin au traitement. La méthode la plus agréable et la plus douce, et la plus efficace aussi, est incontestablement celle du « drainage lymphatique manuel » ; un traitement plus intensif et demandant moins de temps par séance, est réalisé à l’aide de la technique LPG. Pour qui ne veut pas se risquer à la chirurgie et néanmoins améliorer tant que possible sa silhouette pendant un laps de temps donné, par ex. pour les vacances ou à l’occasion d’une fête, y trouvera certainement son compte. Dans les phases précédant et suivant une liposculpture, ces techniques sont également très utiles pour limiter le gonflement lié à l’intervention.

régime alimentaire
Une alimentation saine est à la base d’une silhouette agréable. De bonnes habitudes alimentaires sont pour la plupart des personnes la seule condition pour améliorer leur ligne. Une alimentation saine est tout aussi importante pour qui envisage une opération esthétique : la chirurgie est un moyen complémentaire et non une substitution. Une surcharge pondérale doit être traitée par la diète et non par la chirurgie esthétique. En cas d’obésité sérieuse, on peut envisager une opération de l’estomac, réalisée par un chirurgien généraliste spécialisé.

sport
Une bonne condition physique est tout aussi importante pour avoir une belle ligne. Un dos musclé et des abdominaux renforcés assurent une posture plus saine et plus belle ; les muscles développés contribuent à l’amélioration de la silhouette. Une masse musculaire importante aide aussi à brûler plus d’énergie et agit de ce fait sur les tissus graisseux. Les exercices musculaires n’ont cependant pas d’effet localisé sur les accumulations de graisse ; faire travailler les abdominaux n’aura donc pas d’effet direct sur la graisse du ventre.

méthodes de combinaison
Les exercices et les échauffements localisés, tels que pratiqués en body styling exercent probablement leur effet principal sur l’accumulation de liquides dans les tissus graisseux. Il n’existe pas de preuves dans la littérature médicale spécialisée, d’un effet sur les cellules de graisse elles-mêmes. Toutefois, la combinaison d’exercices sous surveillance et de diète, telle que pratiquée dans ces méthodes, peut amener une amélioration notable de l’aspect physique.