dr. J. VANDEPUTTE

Plastic Surgery

Click here to go to full picture series.Click here to go to full picture series.

lipofilling (lipostructure, fat transfer)

The most durable method to restore or to increase volume is transplantation of the patient's own fat. This is usually called lipofilling, lipostructure or fat transfer.

Through 2 to 3 mm stab incisions subcutaneous fat is aspirated as softly as possible over the hips, the waist, the thighs or the abdomen. Fat loss is so limited at the donor site that the change of volume remains invisible. The fat is centrifuged for three minutes or filtered to be separated from serum and oil.

The purified fat is injected at its destination site through stab incisions of 1 to 2 mm. This technique is appropriate to enhance the contour of the cheeks and the eyelids, to fill certain wrinkles and folds, to treat disadvantageous effects of weight loss on the face, to enlarge lips, but also to treat irregularities in other areas of the body.

General anaesthesia and day admission are usually required. Swelling may be considerable for three weeks. Limited imperfections such as light swelling and irregularities may take many months to disappear. Overcorrection or irregularities due to scar formation around the transplanted fat are difficult to treat. Therefore the injection of fillers (such as hyaluronic acid gel) has taken much of the place of lipofilling. When more extensive surgery, such as a facelift, is planned, lipofilling in the same operative time can still be considered.

There is a photo series on lip augmentation in the corresponding chapter (facial treatments > lip augmentation).

dr. J. VANDEPUTTE

Chirurgie Plastique

Cliquez ici, pour voir le reportage complèt.Cliquez ici, pour voir le reportage complèt.

lipofilling (lipostructure, transfert de graisse)

La méthode la plus durable pour restaurer ou pour augmenter du volume est la transplantation de la graisse du patient. Cette opération est fréquemment dénommée lipofilling ou lipostructure.

Par des incisions de 2 à 3 millimètres, de la graisse sous-cutanée est aspirée le plus prudemment possible de la taille, des hanches, des cuisses ou du ventre. La perte de graisse au site donneur est tellement petite que le changement de volume reste imperceptible. La graisse est centrifugée pendant trois minutes ou filtrée, pour la séparer du sérum et de l'huile.

La graisse purifiée est injectée dans la région à traiter par des incisions de 1 à 2 mm. Cette technique est valable pour améliorer le contour des joues et des paupières, pour combler certains rides et plis, pour traiter les effets désavantageux de la perte de poids dans le visage, pour augmenter des lèvres, mais aussi pour traiter des irrégularités dans d'autres parties du corps.

En général, on procède sous anesthésie générale et par hospitalisation de jour. Il y a un gonflement important pendant trois semaines. Des inconvénients limités, comme une enflure persistante et des irrégularités peuvent rester perceptibles pendant plusieurs mois. Une surcorrection ou des irrégularités à cause de cicatrisation autour de la graisse transplantée, sont difficiles à traiter. Pour ces raisons, des injections avec des fillers (comme le gel d'acide hyaluronique) sont devenu plus populaires. Néanmoins, à l'occasion d'une chirurgie plus majeure comme un lifting, un lipofilling dans le même temps opératoire peut toujours être considéré.

Il y a un reportage sur l'augmentation des lèvres dans le chapitre correspondant (corrections au visage > augmentation des lèvres).