dr. J. VANDEPUTTE

Plastic Surgery

be well-informed

1. the verbal explanation
This website offers general information with a view to aligning consultations to suit your personal problem. It enables you to visit your doctor, prepared with some background information.
These are not exhaustive instructions, nor a complete list of things that may go wrong. A doctor will only formulate a treatment plan based on your medical case history and your personal preference. The most important explanation will be provided verbally during the consultation. Every person and procedure is different; there is no such thing as a complete manual on paper for every unique procedure. Even an elaborate written study of possible side effects and complications, can never be complete. There is always the possibility that you are the first patient to experience a certain complication which has not yet been described in medical literature. The doctor will thoroughly go over the procedure with you, including discomforts, often occurring complications and known rarer, although serious, complications.
It is of the utmost importance that you only schedule an operation once you have fully assessed the situation, no matter how small the procedure may be. Write your questions down. It is better to return for a second consultation prior to the procedure, than be left with avoidable problems.

2.obligation to perform to the best of one’s ability
The plastic surgeon is dedicated to carrying out your procedure with due and proper care. His efforts and choice of materials, however, offer no guarantee of achieving any intended results. Medicine may be based on science, but in itself is not an exact science. Every human body is different, and medicine is not capable of knowing all bodily processes, let alone predict these.
Your doctor will explain in all conscience the treatments most likely to be successful in your case. However, the outcome or complications, if any, can never be fully predicted. If you request to undergo a procedure, you should be prepared to bear the risk. Your doctor will in any event commit himself to properly treating any complications, or have them treated by colleagues. In case of a less than favourable outcome, he will propose possible additional corrections. However, treatment of complications or additional treatments are not included in the prearranged operation budget.

dr. J. VANDEPUTTE

Chirurgie Plastique

informez-vous bien

1. l'explication orale
Ce site web vous procure des informations générales afin de pouvoir se concentrer sur votre problème personnel lors de la consultation. Ainsi vous serez déjà bien informé lors de votre visite à votre médecin.
Il ne s’agit pas d’un manuel complet, ni d’une liste complete des problèmes qui peuvent surgir. Le médecin vous proposera un traitement basé sur votre passé médical et vos désirs personnels. Les explications principales seront fournies oralement lors de la consultation. Chaque personne et chaque intervention est différente ; un manuel complet de chaque traitement spécifique n'existe pas. Même une étude détaillée de tous les effets secondaires et toutes les complications possibles ne pourrait jamais être exhaustive. Il est toujours possible qu'une certaine complication apparaît chez vous pour la première fois et qui était jusqu’alors inconnue dans la littérature médicale. Le médecin discutera de l’intervention à fond avec vous, y compris les désagréments, les complications courantes et les rares complications sérieuses.
Il est très important que vous ne prenez rendez-vous pour l’opération que si vous êtes certain d’avoir tout bien compris même pour une intervention mineure. Notez vos questions. En cas de doute, il vaut mieux repasser à la consultation, que d’avoir des problèmes par après qui auraient pu être évités.

2. l'obligation de moyen
Le chirurgien plastique s’engage à effectuer une opération bonne et soignée. Ses efforts et choix de matériaux ne contiennent toutefois pas de garantie de résultat. La médecine est basée sur la science, mais n’est pour cela pas une science exacte. Chaque corps humain est différent et la médecine n'est pas en mesure de connaître tous les processus physiques, sans parler ni de les prédire.
Votre médecin vous expliquera en bonne conscience les traitements qui ont une bonne chance de réussir dans votre cas. Les résultats ou les complications ne sont toutefois pas completement prévisibles. Si vous demandez une intervention, vous devez assumer ce risque. Le cas échéant, votre médecin fera tout pour bien traiter une complication éventuelle ou demander l’assistance d’un collègue. Lors d’un résultat insatisfaisant, il proposera aussi des retouches possibles. Le traitement d’une complication ou les retouches complémentaires ne sont toutefois pas comprises dans le budget convenu.