wound and scar care


the secret is in the detail...
The eventual outcome of a procedure does not only depend on the doctor, but also on you. A predisposition to good or not so good scar tissue formation can unfortunately not be changed. However, good preparation of the relevant part of the body and proper after-care of the wound is in your hands.


PREPARATION
A clean and healthy skin, with only normal quantities of harmless microbes, will heal best.

clean skin
Cleanse your skin in the usual manner (soap is only necessary on those parts of your body where you would ordinarily use soap). At the most, use a moisturiser, and only if your skin would otherwise dry out. Do not use any make-up. Even for minor procedures, no make-up is to be used on the face. Remove all jewellery from parts of the body to be treated. Do not forget earrings during procedures involving the face. During procedures on the upper arm, too, no rings may be worn on the hands.

hair
The hair of the head need not be cut away, neither prior to, nor during the procedure (except when treating very serious accidental injuries). Men shave their faces as usual; after all, the skin is used to this. Short downy hair (e.g. in a woman’s face) is completely harmless. All other parts of the body need to be depilated, and in the correct manner at that.
Shaving should take place at least two, preferably three days prior to the procedure. Stubble is harmless.
Depilatory cream can be used on the day of the procedure or the day before, but only if this method was used before (see box on depilation).
Warm wax depilation, epilation and such, are irritating to the skin. If so desired, this technique should be implemented one week prior to the procedure. This is only possible if you have used the technique before and are confident that your skin will quickly recover.
If you are having trouble depilating certain parts of your body, this can be done by a hospital nurse just prior to the procedure.

disinfectant soap
Only if your doctor considers it necessary should you cleanse your skin with disinfectant soap. This may be the case in poor health, infected skin or parts of the body which are hard to keep clean.

antibiotics
These compounds inhibit or kill microbes; they may, however, carry side effects. They are only prescribed in exceptional circumstances.


WOUND CARE
sutures:
The longer the sutures are left in place, the more the formation of scar tissue is stimulated. The shorter they are left in place, the higher the chance of the wound opening up again. The correct time to remove the sutures is based on a comparative assessment of the two issues; there is usually a margin of a few days. Sutures in the face are generally removed within a week; in the hand or wrist only after a minimum of two weeks. Many other, personal factors, may influence the ideal time span; so keep to the term indicated by the doctor (which he may also change according to progression!). Sometimes, degradable sutures may be used.

keep still
The less movement of the wound, the less chance of the wound edges being pulled apart. And the easier it is for your body to heal. However, not moving also causes swelling and joint stiffness. So take it easy, but keep the relevant part of the body moving as prescribed by the doctor. Make sure you do not exert yourself: this raises blood pressure and can cause subsequent bleeding.

good circulation without swelling
Unsupported limbs will swell and be painful after an operation. An arm should be supported by a sling for a few days (except after the most minor of procedures), a leg should be elevated as much as possible. Always rest your foot on a bench or chair at the same level as your seat. Ideally, a foot should be rested in an elevated position, walking around is not as good and standing still even worse.

do not smoke
Smokers heal slower and have a higher chance of the skin edges dying off. A blood vessel procedure can completely fail due to smoking. “Seriously cutting down” is insufficient; the first cigarette alone will cause the blood vessels to contract.

dry and clean
Sutures are like motorways for microbes: as long as there are sutures in a wound, the wound should remain absolutely dry and clean. There are waterproof plasters which still allow showering. Having a wound sweat for hours inside a glove or plastic sack is not a good idea! An exception is a hairy scalp: you may usually wash this as early as two days after the procedure using disinfectant shampoo, however, only after explicit approval from your doctor.

good check-ups, but not too many
An infected wound (e.g. as a result of an accident in an unclean environment, for instance after intestinal surgery) is riddled with germs and needs to be disinfected daily. It is best to also daily disinfect wounds on the soles of the feet or on the genitals. Most medical incisions, however, are performed on clean skin under extremely clean circumstances. Only normal microbes, which permanently live on the skin, will reappear on the skin afterward. Therefore, most procedures do not call for daily disinfecting. After all, disinfection does not only kill off germs, but also the frail, new skin cells needed to close the wound. Every act increases the risk of transferring other germs from your hands or instruments, into the wound. You should therefore have the doctor or nurse check the wound according to the guidelines, but do not feel called to rub it daily. A little fluid seeping through in the first few days or a coagulated blood clot are harmless.


TEMPORARY DISCOMFORT
The body demonstrates a temporary overreaction upon formation of scar tissue: the scar becomes hard and pink (or even red or purple). The wound surface is often irregular or uneven. The surrounding skin also stiffens and becomes sensitive to pressure. A scar is only at its ugliest after four to six weeks. During this period the scar also contracts; occasionally you will feel a stab of pain. If healing properly, your skin will regain its softness; the surrounding skin will regain its elasticity, the discolouration will fade and any stabs of pain will become increasingly rare.


SCAR FORMATION PROBLEMS
mottled discolouration of irritated skin
Irritated skin is much more sensitive to ultraviolet rays (sun, solarium) than normal skin. As long as a scar remains coloured (purple, red or pink) the surrounding skin over an area of 1 cm is irritated. It is imperative not to tan that area. You would risk an ugly, mottled, excessive brown discolouration which will not go away. A markedly coloured scar can only be protected by a plaster also covering the surrounding skin over an area of 1 cm. Once a light pink colour remains, a suntan lotion with a very high protection factor (minimum 20) generally suffices

excessive scarring
The process of scars turning temporarily hard and red is normal. However, if this line becomes raised, too much scar tissue is probably being formed. Various treatments are provided, which are best started as early as possible. In other words, do not wait months to reconsult your doctor.

stretching
A properly healing scar will not grow wider than one to two millimetres. If you notice that it is growing wider, contact your doctor immediately. It often, though not always, helps to apply the plaster diagonally across the scar. Once stretched, however, the scar will never return to its more narrow state.


AFTER-CARE
The first three to four weeks you are to simply leave the scar alone: leave nature to promote proper healing. Once this has been achieved, you may do more. These treatments are required in case of excessive scar tissue formation. In case of normal scar tissue formation, they speed up the maturation of the scar, but the end result will be the same: so you can choose whether faster maturation is worth your while.

massage:
Firm scars may be massaged using the fingers two to three days a day (if need be, a professional massage by a physiotherapist). You can use a cream that enhances scar maturation as advised by your physician. You should definitely avoid rough handling: repeated wounding of the tissue will only aggravate scar tissue formation.

silicone gel
Silicone gel or a mineral oil gel may initially be applied for twelve hours a day. Once the skin is accustomed to the gel, it is applied 24 hours a day. Your doctor will first explain instructions for use. The treatment is only useful if kept up for a number of months.

laser treatments
The surface of a scar can be remodeled with a CO2 laser. Scar redness can be treated with an NdYag laser

scar injections
Excessive scar formation can be treated by your physician by local injection of medication.

compression garments
In case of problem scars (e.g. after burns) custom-made pressure garments may improve maturation. These are produced on prescription by a physician.


GENERAL PRACTITIONER
Always notify your general practitioner if you are about to undergo treatment, even if you made the appointment on your own initiative. He may point out certain medical information which needs to be passed on prior to treatment. It is useful to consult your general practitioner for wound care after treatment. If sudden problems should arise, you may not be able to reach your specialist straight away. Your general practitioner can assess the gravity of any healing problems, in particular if he has been informed beforehand of your treatment. He may either help you directly, or in case of bigger problems, ensure emergency after-care while avoiding panic.


HAIR AND HAIR REMOVAL
Hair growth creates problems with regard to proper disinfection of the wound and applying a comfortable bandage. However, shaving or depilating hair causes tiny cuts. After several hours, more microbes will be alive in these cuts than can be found in normal skin, a problem you can do without during surgery. For that reason it is best to shave the hairs off two to three days prior to treatment, to allow the skin time for full recovery. Do not do this the day before surgery. Shaving in hospital is done just before surgery, so that germs do not have time to multiply. Depilation using cream can be done at any given time: this does not cause cuts. However, you need to be sure that your skin on the relevant part of your body tolerates the depilatory cream well: irritated skin is not a good basis to start a procedure. These guidelines do not apply to the face and hair of the head (see above).


THE HAND HEALS SLOWLY
The skin of the hand consists of a living thin layer, and a non-living, thick horny layer. In the two weeks that the area is covered with a plaster, the horny layer no longer wears off. This results in two hard patches, together creating a hinging motion in the scar at every movement of the hand. After removing the sutures, the plates of horny skin separate, perhaps giving you the false impression that the wound is opening up. Moreover, some unsavoury fluid may be released, fluid which had built up between the living skin and the horny plates breaking off. The scar itself may turn into a wet cut. In this event, it is best to wash your hands with disinfectant soap several times a day. It is advised not to wear a plaster, or the horny layer of skin cannot wear off and a cut will remain in the wound. When in doubt, please always consult your doctor.

dr. J. VANDEPUTTE

Chirurgie Plastique

soin de la plaie et de la cicatrice


le secret est dans le détail...
Le résultat final d'une intervention dépend non seulement du chirurgien, mais aussi de vous-même. Les conditions de cicatrisation et de susceptibilité biologique varient d’un patient à l’autre. Ceci ne peut malheureusement pas être changé. Une bonne préparation de la partie du corps concernée et un bon suivi post-opératoire de la plaie se trouvent toutefois dans vos propres mains.


LA PREPARATION
Une peau pure et saine, peuplée uniquement par des microbes inoffensifs dans des quantités normales, guérira le plus facile.

une peau pure
Nettoyez votre peau comme d’habitude. L’utilisation de savon est uniquement nécessaire pour les parties du corps où vous utilisez du savon habituellement. Appliquez tout au plus une crème hydratante et uniquement si votre peau dessèche autrement. Pour la chirurgie du visage, évitez le maquillage. Même pour une petite intervention, tout le visage doit rester sans maquillage. Enlevez tous vos bijoux de la région du corps à traiter. N’oubliez pas les boucles d’oreille pour une intervention dans le visage. Notez également que pour une intervention sur le bras supérieur, on ne peut pas porter de bagues à cette main.

poils et cheveux
Les cheveux crâniens ne doivent pas être coupés, ni avant l’intervention ni pendant, sauf en cas de blessures importantes à la suite d’un accident. Les hommes se rasent comme d’habitude. Cette peau y est d’ailleurs habituée. Un léger duvet (p.ex. chez certaines femmes sur le visage) ne peut mal. Toute autre région du corps doit préalablement être épilée, et ceci de façon correcte.
Un rasage doit s’effectuer de préférence deux à trois jours avant l’opération. Des poils durs qui repoussent ne gênent pas.
Une épilation à la crème peut se faire le jour même ou le jour avant l’intervention, mais seulement si vous avez déjà utilisé cette méthode. (voir rubrique sur l’épilation)
L’épilation à la cire chaude, ou l’épilation à pincette sont des techniques qui peuvent irriter la peau. Si souhaité, ceci doit s’effectuer au moins une semaine à l’avance et uniquement si vous y êtes habitué et que vous êtes sûre que votre peau récupère bien.
Si vous avez des problèmes pour épiler certaines zones du corps, ceci peut être effectué par un(e) soignant(e) à la clinique.

le savon désinfectant
Uniquement si votre médecin le juge nécessaire, vous devez vous laver préalablement avec un savon désinfectant. Parfois ceci s’avère nécessaire en cas d’une moins bonne santé, une inflammation ou des zones corporelles difficiles à garder propres.

antibiotiques
Ces substances freinent ou tuent les microbes ; ils peuvent néanmoins avoir des effets secondaires. Les antibiotiques ne seront préscrits que pour des cas exceptionnels.


LES SOINS
les fils
Laisser les fils de suture trop longtemps, peut causer une mauvaise cicatrisation. Les enlever trop tôt, contient le risque que la plaie se rouvre. Le moment correct pour enlever les fils est donc une question délicate. Souvent il y a une marge de quelques jours. Dans le visage, les fils sont habituellement retirés endéans la semaine; à la main ou au pouls on attend minimum deux semaines avant d’enlever les fils. Beaucoup d'autres facteurs personnels peuvent influencer la durée idéale. Respectez donc le délai stipulé par le médecin. Ce dernier peut éventuellement changer le délai suivant l’évolution de la guérison. Dans certains cas on utilisera des fils résorbables.

reposez-vous
Plus qu’une plaie reste immobile, moins sera le risque de la désunion des bords. Et plus vite votre corps se remettra de l’intervention. L’immobilité peut néanmoins provoquer des boursouflures et des raideurs d’articulation. Essayez donc de combiner le repos et l’exercice comme prescrit par votre médecin. Ne faites surtout pas de grands efforts physiques : ceci peut causer des problèmes de tension et des hémorragies.

bonne circulation du sang sans gonflements
Les membres pendants enflent et font mal après une intervention. Un bras doit être porté en écharpe sauf en cas d’une intervention légère . Une jambe doit être reposée quelques jours en hauteur. Mettez donc toujours votre jambe opérée sur une chaise ou un reposoir à hauteur de votre derrière. Après une opération au pied, on recommande le repos du pied en hauteur, on déconseille de marcher et de se tenir debout.

ne fumez pas
On constate chez les fumeurs une guérison plus lente et un risque plus élevé de l’ablation des bords de la peau . Une intervention aux artères peut rater completement par le fait de fumer. « Réduire sérieusement » est insuffisant : même la première cigarette fait déjà rétrécir les veines.

sec et propre
Les fils sont des autoroutes pour les microbes : aussi longtemps qu’il reste des fils dans la plaie, celle-ci doit absolument rester sèche et propre. Dans le commerce on trouve des pansements imperméables qui permettent quand même de se doucher. Laisser transpirer une plaie pendant des heures dans un gant ou un sac en plastique n’est pas une bonne idée! Une exception est faite pour la peau chevelu du crâne : celle-ci peut déjà être lavé après deux jours avec un shampooing désinfectant et avec l’autorisation explicite du médecin.

des bons contrôles mais pas trop
Une blessure contaminée (par exemple après un accident dans un environnement sale, ou une opération de l’intestin) est pleine de germes et doit être désinfectée quotidiennement. Ceci s’applique également pour des plaies aux plantes des pieds ou dans la zone des organes sexuels. Mais en général une incision chirurgicale se fait toujours sur une peau propre dans un environnement très stérile. Seuls les microbes ordinaires qui sont communs sur la peau humaine, vont réapparaître sur cette peau. Dans la plupart des cas, il ne sera donc pas nécessaire de désinfecter quotidiennement la plaie, puisque la désinfection tue non seulement les germes, mais également les nouvelles cellules de la peau qui se forment et qui sont très fragiles. Lors de chaque action, vous courrez également le risque, de transmettre d’autres microbes qui collent à vos mains ou vos instruments. Faites donc contrôler la plaie selon les instructions par un médecin ou une infirmière, mais ne vous sentez pas obligé de frotter tous les jours sur la plaie. Ne vous inquiétez pas si les premiers jours vous apercevez un peu de sang qui perce ou une tâche de sang coagulé.


GENE TEMPORAIRE
Le corps réagit temporairement fort pendant la cicatrisation : la cicatrice devient dure et rose (tendant vers le rouge ou le pourpre). Souvent un relief se forme ou la surface de la plaie devient bosseuse. La peau environnante se raidit et est plus sensible à la pression. Une cicatrice aura sa pire forme seulement après quatre à six semaines. Pendant ce temps-ci la cicatrice se contracte ; de temps à autre on sentira un élancement de douleur. Par après, lors d’une bonne guérison, la cicatrice deviendra à nouveau plus souple, la peau autour retrouvera son élasticité, la coloration disparaît et les pointes de douleurs deviennent plus rares.


PROBLEMES DE CICATRISATION
tâches pigmentées de la peau irritée
La peau irritée est beaucoup plus sensible aux rayons UV (soleil, banc solaire) que la peau normale. Aussi longtemps qu'une cicatrice est colorée (violet, rouge ou rose) la peau dans un rayon d’un cm sera fort sensible. Cette zone ne peut absolument pas bronzer. Vous risquez en effet une vilaine coloration brune et tachée qui ne disparaîtra plus jamais. Une cicatrice de couleur claire ne peut être protégée que par un sparadrap qui couvre également la peau environnante sur une largeur d’un centimètre. S’il reste une coloration légèrement rose, il suffira d’utiliser une crème solaire avec un facteur très élevé de protection (au moins 20).

cicatrisation excessive
Il est tout à fait normal qu’une cicatrice devient dure et rose. Si toutefois cette ligne grossit, vous formez probablement trop de tissu de cicatrisation. Dans ce cas, plusieurs thérapies existent qui doivent être démarrées dans le plus bref délai. N’attendez donc pas des mois avant de revoir votre médecin.

etirage
Une cicatrice qui guérit bien ne devient pas plus large qu’un à deux millimètres. Si vous constatez qu’elle devient plus large, consultez votre médecin. Des sparadraps collés en transversal de la cicatrice peuvent parfois aider, mais pas toujours. Une cicatrice étirée ne va plus jamais devenir plus étroite.


SOINS POSTOPERATOIRES
Ne touchez pas à votre cicatrice pendant les deux à trois premières semaines : laissez la nature prendre soin d’une bonne guérison. Une fois que ceci est obtenu, vous pouvez éventuellement faire davantage. En cas de cicatrisation exagérée, ces traitements sont absolument nécessaires. En cas d’une cicatrisation normale, ces traitements peuvent accélérer le processus de guérison, mais ne changeront pas le résultat final. A vous de choisir si vous estimez que l’accélération de la guérison vaut l’investissement.

massage
Des cicatrices solides peuvent être massées avec les doigts deux à trois fois par jour.(si nécessaire par un kinésiste professionnel). Vous pouvez appliquer une crème qui améliore la maturation cicatricielle selon les instructions de votre médecin. Evitez surtout des actions brutales : en blessant continuellement le tissu la cicatrice ne peut que s’agrandir.

gel à silicones
Un gel à silicones ou un gel à l’huile minérale peut être apporté dans un premier temps douze heures par jour. Après une période d’adaptation , le gel peut être utilisé 24 heures sur 24. Renseignez-vous auprès de votre médecin au sujet de l’utilisation de ce gel. Le traitement n’est utile que s’il est continué pendant plusieurs mois.

vêtements à pression
En cas de cicatrices problématiques, des pansements à pression peuvent améliorer la guérison. Ceci est un travail hautement spécialisé et se fait uniquement sur préscription du médecin.

traitements au laser
La surface d'une cicatrice peut êtré remodelée par traitement au laser CO2. La rougeur est traitable avec un laser NdYag

injections de cicatrices
En cas de cicatrisation hypertrophique, votre médecin peut injecter des médicaments localement

vêtements à pression
En cas de cicatrices problématiques, des pansements à pression peuvent améliorer la guérison. Ceci est un travail hautement spécialisé et se fait uniquement sur préscription du médecin.


LE MEDECIN DE FAMILLE
Prévenez toujours votre médecin de famille quand vous allez subir un traitement, même quand vous fixez une intervention de votre propre initiative. Il peut attirer votre attention sur des données médicales qui doivent impérativement être communiquées pour le traitement. Il peut s’avérer utile de consulter votre généraliste pour les soins post-opératoires de la plaie. Pour des problèmes urgents, il se peut que vous ne pourrez pas contacter le spécialiste immédiatement. Le médecin de famille peut juger de la gravité d’un problème de guérison et d’autant plus s’il est déjà au courant du traitement. Il pourra vous aider directement ou lors de problèmes plus graves organiser les soins urgents post-opératoires sans situation de panique.


LES POILS ET L'EPILATION
La pilosité pose un problème pour une bonne désinfection, pour garder une plaie bien propre et pour la mise en place de bandages. Le rasage ou l’épilation des poils peut causer de petites blessures. Dans un délai de quelques heures, les microbes se multiplient beaucoup plus vite que sur une peau normale et ceci peut être néfaste lors d’une intervention. Ainsi , il vaut mieux raser la peau deux ou trois jours à l’avance, pour que la peau soit déjà bien remise. Ne le faites surtout pas le jour avant l’intervention. Le rasage en clinique se fait juste avant l’opération et de ce fait les germes n’ont pas le temps de se multiplier. L’épilation avec une crème épilatoire peut se faire à n’importe quel moment : cette méthode ne créé pas de petites blessures. Toutefois vous devez être certain que la peau de cette partie du corps supporte bien la crème épilatoire : une peau irritée n’est pas un terrain idéal pour une opération. Ces recommandations ne sont pas valables pour le visage et les cheveux crâniens.


LA MAIN GUERIT LENTEMENT
La peau de la main consiste en une couche mince vivante et une couche épaisse et calleuse. Pendant les deux semaines qu’une plaie est couverte d’un emplâtre, la partie calleuse ne s’use pas comme d’habitude. Ainsi deux plaques dures se forment qui s’articulent dans la cicatrice lors de chaque mouvement de la main. Une fois que les fils sont enlevés, les plaques calleuses baillent, ce qui pourrait vous faire penser que la plaie s’ouvre. En outre on voit souvent apparaître un liquide sale qui s’est installé entre la peau vivante et les callosités baillantes. La cicatrice elle-même peut aussi devenir une fente humide. Dans ce cas-là, il est conseillé de se laver les mains plusieurs fois par jour avec un savon désinfectant. Il vaut mieux ne plus porter d’emplâtre, sinon la peau calleuse ne peut pas s’user et la plaie continuera à bailler. Consultez toujours votre médecin en cas de doute.